That Thing Called Tadhana – The Way I See It

I can’t really recall the last time I went to the cinema. Since I’ve been a fan of Asian films, most of the movies I watch are either on the net or on DVD. “That Thing Called Tadhana,” tagged as the ultimate hugot movie of the year, has been raved about by my friends on social media. I must admit I rarely watch Filipino films, but all the lines I’ve read are quite intriguing so I had to check it out for myself.

Mace (Angelica Panganiban) and Anthony (JM De Guzman) met on the airport on the way back to the Philippines from Rome. Mace just got dumped by her boyfriend of eight years while Anthony has been brokenhearted for some time. Two brokenhearted people met and talked about love and life is basically what the movie is about. I spent almost two hours inside the dark and cold cinema and watched these two beautiful, witty people talk – without being aware that time passed and the curtain has to fall.

Normally I would have been bored to death by such a film – only two casts and not much action and confrontation or revelations. But I was entertained. The lines were witty and funny and relate-able. The characters are likeable, even loveable. I have met a few Maces in my life and some Anthonys as well. Many of their discussions I’ve heard during long inuman and videoke sessions littered with sudden bouts of tears and screams of anger.The film was also littered with symbolism (e.g. Mace’s baggage) which require some maturity from its watchers.

Angelica Panganiban and JM De Guzman, I daresay, are two of the best actors of this generation. It was as if you are just listening to your buddies talk about such stuff. As I said there was not much action in this film but the way they looked at each other and the pained looks when they related their stories are enough to convey the message and feelings clearly to the audience.

Overall, it was worth the money and the time spent as well as the hype it has been receiving. Not all will enjoy such film but it is worth checking out. I do not regret watching two people exchange banter over watching two people play with blindfolds, handcuffs and whips. =)

Leave a Reply

