Random Muttering 4/23/ 2015 Nostalgia

Nostalgia is probably one of my most favorite English word. According to an online dictionary, it means “a sentimental longing or wistful affection for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations.”

Throwback Thursdays have been a big hit in IG and other social media because of the nostalgia it gives us. We all love laughing at old memories while hopelessly wondering why can’t it be as good as before. Why is life so complicated now than it used to be? Why are things much simpler when we were younger?

over1

But come to think of it, at that point in our lives, we don’t think it was that great. I used to look at my high school pictures and long for the time when I was much thinner than I am now. However, if I remember correctly, I ate a lot to gain weight because I want my classmates to stop calling me names like “bamboo,” “post,” or “grasshopper.” I wanted some meat on my cheeks because I kept being called “babalu,” “aiai,” “half moon” and “mangga.” Now that I am much bigger, I discovered that I like those names better than “baka” or “balyena.”

I tried searching for the opposite of nostalgia or nostalgic but I can’t find one that describes exactly what I want to happen. I want to be un-nostalgic about the past. I want to look back happily without this much longing.

Leave a Reply

