Random Muttering 7/13/2015 : Nostalgia

Thinking of the 90’s never fails to make me smile. It was the decade of my youth, the first half I spent in high school and the other half in college. This was the period when my ideals were formed and also when reality debunked most of them. There were too many emotions – a little angst, some drama and a sprinkle of joy here and there.

Here I go reminiscing again. Does nostalgia really come with age? Or is it because of the things I see and hear about the young people of today that I wish to relive the time of my own youth? I am not romanticizing my time. We had our share of problems too – suicide, drugs and immorality were already there but they seem to get worse. Oh well, I am sure that during my time, the previous generation has things to say about us as well.

I started a series of articles in my old blog about the things that me and my batchmates enjoyed during our time. We had surveys about favorite TV shows, songs/music, even films and fashion items. This was done in preparation for our 20th reunion. However, when I lost interest in organizing the event, I stopped making the articles as well.

But lately, talks about the reunion are revitalized and so is my desire to continue with the surveys. I am getting a bit excited. When asked what they remember most about the pop culture of the 90’s, the top answers of QHS 95 were:

1. The Gwapings!

2. Mara Clara

download

3. The Eraserheads!

4. Sarah: Ang Munting Prinsesa

5. That’s Entertainment and Ang TV

“Nostalgia is a necessary thing, I believe, and a way for all of us to find peace in that which we have accomplished, or even failed to accomplish.” – R.A. Salvatore, Streams of Silver

2 thoughts on “Random Muttering 7/13/2015 : Nostalgia

  1. Very interesting article. I agree that ‘nostalgia’ or remembering the past – whether we have succeeded in our goals or not, is not the real issue. I think it is the experience- of the joys or the pains. It made us what we are today.

    • sometimes it’s just so nice to look back even if some things are quite embarrassing to admit now (like my huge crush on Jomari Yllana). =) I may be looking through rose colored glasses but life really seems to be much better before.

Leave a Reply

