Random Muttering 8/12/2015: If I could Talk to My Younger Self

We all have our version of that tumultuous phase called Adolescence.Mine makes me laugh most of the time, sometimes it makes me feel embarrassed and other times it just makes me feel mad.With all those hormones raging, the emotions were high. I had body issues, appearance issues, family issues – almost everything was a huge deal for me back then. Social acceptance was very important for me and I remember doing stupid things just to be popular. If the present me were to meet the old me, she would get an earful.

FotorCreated 1

 I was a good kid generally but if I could go back in time and meet that young Jill in high school, I would give her these pieces of advice:

  1. The world does not revolve around you. – It’s natural for adolescents to be full of themselves. It’s hard to put one’s self in other people’s shoes. However, be more sensitive to the needs of others. They like listening to your stories and jokes but there’s a limit to what they can take. It’s gets boring if you repeat it ten thousand times. Try to listen to what other people have to say, they have stories and concerns too.
  1. Love, respect, and obey your parents. – Sure Mom and Dad can be unreasonable sometimes and you just don’t understand why they can’t let you stay out later or give you extra money. Of course they don’t understand you any more than you understand them. But remember, you cannot replace them. And as long as you are dependent on them, it’s their rules. Work hard if you want to be your own boss.
  1. Comb your hair!–press your uniform, wear matching socks, always carry a towel/handkerchief, put a little powder as well. I know you are always in a hurry but the world doesn’t have to know.
  1. Grades are just numbers – what matters is what you have learned. Those plus points you get from joining the field trip or decorating your classroom are helpful but make sure that you keep a bit of knowledge/skill for every experience. Stop crying over your card! When you go to the real world nobody will even glance at it!
  1. Wear those clothes – while they still fit you – do not be shy. Ignore those who tease. There will come a time that those dresses will look like a shirt on you and those jeans will not even fit one leg.

You know that classic question they ask in beauty pageants? “If you could change something about your past, what would it be and why?’ And the generic answer I heard is “Nothing because without my past, I wouldn’t be where and who I am today.” Yes, it’s a good answer and I am sure it’s what most people really feel. Many of us are trying to live without regrets; we try to accept our past to come to terms with our present.

FotorCreated2

But to be honest, I do have some regrets. If I would be given a chance to go back and change those things in my life – I’d eagerly go back. Not because I am unhappy with my present. It is because I believe that my life would’ve been the same even if I did not go through those moments. There were mistakes that were worth the pain but there were those that could’ve been avoided. If only there was that someone who could’ve told me these, I wouldn’t have to suffer those cringe-worthy memories.

But then again – maybe I wouldn’t have listened. ;p

Leave a Reply

