Lookback: Bridget Jones’s Diary (2001)

Once in a while I like going and looking back at some movies and dramas and try to remember why I fell in love with them at that point in the past. This week, I looked back at “Bridget Jones Diary.” Bridget lived in the other side of the world, grew up in a very foreign culture and behaved differently from myself. I was in my early twenties when I first watched the film but I guess, the need for love is universal that’s why I shared her agony while laughing at her crazy way of doing things and I rooted for her in spite of her blunders.

There were so many parts I love but some of my favorites were:

  1. When Bridget overheard Mark telling his mother: Mother, I do not need a blind date. Particularly not with some verbally incontinent spinster who drinks like a fish, smokes like a chimney, and dresses like her mother.“ It led her to the realization that unless something changes, she would spend the rest of her life alone. That part when Renee Zellweger was lip-synching “All by Myself” on her sofa was funny but in a heartbreaking way.

bj 1

  1. The beginning of Daniel and Bridget’s relationship. Hugh Grant will always be one of my biggest celebrity crushes. Though Daniel turned out to be a real jerk, it was really so cute in the beginning.

bj 3 bj 2

  1. When Bridget resigned from work and told Daniel that she’d rather wipe Hussein’s ass was a killer.

bj 4

  1. But I sincerely fell for Mark Darcy when he told Bridget, “I don’t think you’re an idiot at all. I mean, there are elements of the ridiculous about you. Your mother’s pretty interesting. And you really are an appallingly bad public speaker. And, um, you tend to let whatever’s in your head come out of your mouth without much consideration of the consequences… But the thing is, um, what I’m trying to say, very inarticulately, is that, um, in fact, perhaps despite appearances, I like you, very much. Just as you are.”

bj 5

  1. I just find the blue soup hilariously stupid.

bj 6

6. Who would forget that fight between Mark and Daniel while “It’s Raining Men” is playing on the background?

bj 8 bj 9

7. When Bridget came running after Mark on her underwear, I was screaming.

bj 10

I just love this movie so much. Maybe because I am now in my thirties and wishing that my own Mark Darcy will come my way. It’s something that women my age who are still waiting for the mysterious Mr. Right can – not necessarily relate to but enjoy for the humor and the feels.

bj 11

Leave a Reply

