Random Muttering 4/5/2016: Holy Week and Writing Again

11923257_10153292039594219_4431268935718592369_n

It has been REALLY busy during the last few weeks of the school year. Though I am missing the kids already, I can’t deny the fact that I am a bit happy to take a brief break from classes, exams, and grades. I finally indulged myself in lying around the house and doodling with my phone. I also did a lot of reflecting and all that stuff, so now I am just excited to go back to normal but I feel like I am better than two weeks ago.

So what did I exactly do?

Hmmm…

We celebrated the Lenten season two weeks ago. Our family usually stays at home during the Holy Week but for the second year now, we have been engaging in Visita Iglesia. We visit seven churches and pray two Stations of the Cross in each. Last year, we just went around Marikina and Quezon City. This year, we decided to go around Rizal.

wp-1459702044048.jpeg

We went to Taytay (Church in the Sky), Angono (St. Clement’s Parish), Cardona (Our Lady of the Holy Rosary), Morong (St. Jerome’s Parish), Baras (St. Joseph’s Parish) and Tanay (San Ildefonso). We were supposed to head to Regina Rica in Tanay but we took a side trip to the Tanay Windmills. It was already late so we prayed the last two stations at St. Paul’s in Marikina.

It was a different kind of experience to see all these beautiful churches. Spending that day with family made it more fulfilling. We were all tired at the end of the trip but it was all done to remember Christ’s suffering so it was really worth it. =)

As far as I can remember, we have been watching prusisyon since I was little. The Roman Catholic Church in our place has one on Holy Wednesday and The Philippine Independent Church hold theirs on Maundy Thursday. Then they both have one on Good Friday and Easter Sunday.

wp-1459702296019.jpeg

The statues have evolved through the years, the decorations even grander than before. But I always stay and wait for the Mater Dolorosa, Ecce Homo, Pieta, and Jesus on the cross.

wp-1459702546961.jpeg

I missed writing here. I really would make time to make my vision for this blog come true. I want to write something down, even the most boring and nonsense ones that catch my fancy at the moment. =)

Leave a Reply

