The Wolf of Wall Street – My Take

6738

source: imdb

“The Wolf of Wall Street” is a 2013 American biographical black comedy film directed by Martin Scorsese. The screenplay by Terence Winter is adapted from the memoir of the same name by Jordan Belfort and recounts from Belfort’s perspective his career as a stockbroker in New York City and how his firm Stratton Oakmont engaged in rampant corruption and fraud on Wall Street that ultimately led to his downfall. (Wikipedia)

It was one heck of a loud film bursting with color, sound and hilariously crazy characters. Leo dominated the screen with his insanely funny performance. He was not left behind by Jonah Hill who had made me laugh in all his other movies. Those parts when Leo described the stages of being high, when he crawled on his face, and when Jonah Hill get choked with ham were priceless. They killed it and I was ROTFL.

Amidst the hilarity of the movie, it’s scary to learn that this was all based on a true story. It is enraging to see how people (like Janet Napoles, all those corrupt politicians and swindlers) have no qualms in squandering other people’s hard-earned money. It is somewhat satisfying to see their downfall.

It’s been over a month since the Oscar’s but I found myself missing Leonardo Di Caprio.  Honestly, I only watched a few minutes of “The Revenant” and I am already convinced that he deserved the award. I was a self-confessed die-hard fan of Leo; growing up in the 90’s, I was a part of the Leo-mania era. My taste changed, he developed a dad bod so I eventually outgrew him. But his win reminded me of those days when I would stupidly gaze at all his pictures on the four walls and on the ceiling of the room I shared with my sisters. I just realized that I never really got over this crush, it was just temporarily forgotten.

Leave a Reply

